Need help with turquoise inlay
This is my first attempt and I have a question about which side to work from when filling a through split. Here is the piece in question along with my little trial piece:

My first thought was to tape the bottom and fill from the top so I could see what I was doing. Then I thought if I tape the top and work from the bottom I'll have an almost finished top. Then I noticed a small void in my test piece and thought I wouldn't be able to work out any voids that way.  Then I thought, but I'll have gravity working for me, and there shouldn't be any voids. Finally I thought: "You're thinking too much. Ask somebody who has already done this." So I am!

The top is nearly 5/8" in thickness so I have sanding room. I'm using 30 min two part epoxy.  Any advice on the ratio of epoxy to turquoise? The trial piece is 1:1.  Any other advice a first timer needs to know would be appreciated

Papa Jim
I had a good day. I used every tool I own!
Jim

Do you want the turquoise to show in the inside as well?

Me personally I go from outside in and then fill anything in the inside after that.

Now to me personally I really like how it is, but it will add flair to your project.
I also use CA glue weather it is thick or thin.
If I can not see the bottom I still put tape on the inside and pack part of the gap with wood chips so I do not use as much of the rock/metal then I need to use, hence the first question.

Last I commend you for first trying a sample piece first.
Yes
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.
Thanks Arlin. I do want the turquoise to be seen from both sides but my lids are always finished better on the top than the bottom.  Is CA clearer than the epoxy? It's not too late to change, but I thought a beginner could use the 30" drying time of the epoxy.