Veritas Bevel-Up Jointer Plane
Are they any good and do they work well. How hard they to get the hang of this would be the second plane one in my collection and just getting into hand planes. I see they offer them in three diffrent tool steel options? is there one better the the others? TIA
What is your first plane? Also, what type of woodworking are you intended to do with your handplanes? That will help us determine if your second plane should be a jointer plane. Veritas (Lee Valley) are excellent planes. It's easy enough to use.
Still Learning,

Allan Hill
I have a LN # 7with a 55 degree frog for jointing. I would buy the #8 if I were younger, but the #7 will produce a straight-flat surface on a short or long board very nicely. I also have a LN bevel-up jack planed but have not considered it for jointing. Lee Valley Veritus planes get high ratings, but I have no experience with them.
I currently have a Stanley #4. I am just getting into learning how to use it. I basically want to use my hand planes to true stock and flatten stock but eventually use them for more things.
I have the Veritas Bevel up jointer with the PM-VII steel.  Great plane.  Great blade.  Wish all my planes had that steel in them.  But I'm not sure I would buy that plane if I didn't also have a #5 or low angle jack (or both).  

That jointer is a great plane (as is the Lie-Nielsen #7), but I only use them after having done most of the work with a jack plane first.

Allan's question is the right one, but you didn't really answer with enough detail.

What size wood are you trying to prep?  Are you making small boxed or large tables?  What other tools do you have to help?  Will you be ripping the boards by hand or with power tools?  If power, is the saw good enough to give you a straight edge or will you need to use a plane to straighten the edge?  Are you buying wood that is rough sawn or with at least one smooth face?