Zinnser Traditional Finish and Sealer
Hello,
I'm a woodturner.  I've never been on the Finishing forum before.  I have been reading some of the posts here and it's pretty much greek to me.
Finishing is my weak  point.  I used to only use Formby's Tung oil.  As it was pretty much fool proof.
I tried Shellac for the first time on a Walnut segmented bowl the other day.  I read the can.  It said apply a thin coat.  Wait an hour.  Sand at 220.  Then reapply.  The first coat dried almost instantly.  I waited an hour.  I sanded.  Reapplied.  I did this three times.  All I got was clogged sandpaper and a blotchy finish.
I put DNA on it and removed all the build.  I had it still on the lathe.  I ran the lathe and rubbed it with panty hose and got a nice sheen and smooth finish.  I quit on it.

How am I supposed to use this stuff? 
 I used it straight from the can.
I have zero experience with Shellac. I've only used Poly most of my life.

Thanks for any help you can provide.

RP
You are probably using the 3lb shellac from Zinnser. That stuff is pretty thick out of the can. Try diluting it 1:1 with DNA or even 1 part shellac to 2 parts DNA. You will find this much easier to use.
There are lacquer and shellac products specifically made for lathe work.  I would look into those.  Zinsser shellac will work but it will dry nearly instantly on the lathe.  The products made for lathe work are a little more user friendly. 

John
(01-16-2017, 07:37 AM)RPE1 Wrote: Hello,
I'm a woodturner.  I've never been on the Finishing forum before.  I have been reading some of the posts here and it's pretty much greek to me.
Finishing is my weak  point.  I used to only use Formby's Tung oil.  As it was pretty much fool proof.