New table saw questions
I am a hobbyist. Most work is building heirloom quality solid wood furniture for the family or gifts for close friends - nothing for sale.

Planning to sell my 3HP Unisaw/52 inch Biesemeyer/Uni mobile base and replace with a SS PCS 52 inch fence/mobile base.

I use the BS for initial rip cuts in heavy stock but still use the TS for finish rips/crosscuts. I move the saw around quite a bit while working to accommodate working space limitations.

Opinions, please:
**Is 1.75 HP enough or should I go 3HP?  My gut says 3HP but I save $500 with the smaller motor.   
**PCS mobile base is $200.  $330 for the Industrial mobile base with PCS conversion kit.  

~$3450 for 3HP PCS with PCS mobile base, $3600 with Ind base?

OR

~$2950 for 1.75HP with PCS base, $3100 with Ind base?

Are there any extras that I NEED to pick up?  Extra cartridge?  Don't need dado.  (Nearest WW store is 50 miles away.)
If all your ripping is done on the BS buy a jointer and use it to clean up cuts 

why bother with a tool if you do not intend to use it at it's full potential 

Joe
Let us not seek the Republican Answer , or the Democratic answer. Let us not seek to fix the blame for the past. Let us accept our own responsibility for the future  John F. Kennedy 

(01-29-2017, 01:03 PM)JGrout Wrote: If all your ripping is done on the BS buy a jointer and use it to clean up cuts 

why bother with a tool if you do not intend to use it at it's full potential 

Joe

Not sure how you gathered all that from my IP.  Guess I didn't provide enough detail about my work flow.  Oh well.

I have a fully equipped shop and I use the TS a lot for various tasks.  And the Uni is a great TS.

But I am going to buy a new SS to do the same tasks I am doing on the Uni.

Just wondering if others have bought the 1.75HP and were disappointed that it bogs down when ripping.  Or bought it and found that it works just fine.