Dealing with Mortising chips?
I'm making a table for the shop. It's a fast and dirty hack job of SYP and Cedar legs for a sharpening station.  Really, it's a way to get some low-consequence chisel/saw time in a busy schedule.  I'm cutting the mortises by hand and the cedar really makes visible a problem that I've had to varying degrees with every table I've built.

That is, the little chips get under the leg and make dents in the leg when I hammer down on the chisel.  The trivial solution is "well, make sure you dust off the table a lot".  Clearly you could spend twice as much time sweeping off chips as cutting.  Do you all have a better solution?  Something like not planing the legs to final dimensions until after the mortises or cut, or some such?
MAKE: Void your warranty, violate a user agreement, fry a circuit, blow a fuse, poke an eye out...  www.makezine.com

No Good Deed Goes Unpunished

I'm no expert. But I always finish plane after joinery is cut. Right before assembly.

While chopping waste, either mortise or dovetails, I use my hand or blow to remove Chips everytime I reposition the piece. I'm not perfect, but I'm very conscious of keeping the bench clear. Lots of little hand wipes continuously throughout make it manageable for me.
That shouldn't be a problem if the leg is clamped down on your bench.  When you install a new piece well, yes, you do need to make sure the bench is clean where it will be clamped. 

I don't know if it works with cedar, but when I get dents in a piece, regardless of my best efforst/intentions, they usually come out by steaming them wiith an iron set on cotton pressed against a wet rag.  

John
I agree with what John said about clamping down the piece to be worked on.