I cringed watching Ask This Old House
Well, I think Ask This Old House does a nice service to non-professionals.  Those who have a hankering to work with wood had to learn like most of us did and are still learning.  Thank goodness there is a place to go like here where all the pros can tell them what to watch out for and how to do it.
He did say he was leaving the end pieces on. He said he is taking light cuts. If you listened to the cuts you could hear there were skips in the cuts where it was taking  off so little. he did nothing wrong. I would have done the same thing. Remember he has to do that in about 10 minutes for a segment of the half hour show. Being an electrician I cringe at some of the things their electrician shows. Talk about dangerous. The problem so many things are left out or unseen because of time constraints.

Still think that show is better than This Old House. They just finished a huge renovation. I wish they would tell you how much those renovations cost. I bet that one was well over a million dollars. I know they get donations and things but for the general public, unless you have money to burn that is alot of cash to do what they did. That porch alone with all that CNC work and then just shingling it, cost more than my entire house.
John T.
I agree, and maybe what some think might happen did.  They just didn't show that part.  It's just a guess, I think we all have done things a little unsafe.  I'll just take a minute. :-)  I record both versions of This Old House so I don't miss anything for years. That home you talked about was something.  There is something in ever show I learn just like here.  Wacky wood was the one I didn't know existed.

Pete