ripping oak posts
Looking for advise on how to rip red oak posts.

I am an not a professional woodworker by any means but I have some woodworking experience.

My project is (Oak bed).
I have large red oak posts, they vary from 6x4 to 3.5x3.5 thick, some as long as 9' all rough cut and dried. I want to rip them down to 3.125 posts for the bed.

I don't think my tablesaw is powerful enough, plus max cut is 3.5". It is a Rigid 10". And I do have a planer to get it to the exact size.

What is recommended for this? Band saw? How big to handle this thickness?

any help is appreciated

Mike in Minnesota
i would get it close on the bandsaw.  Then use a planer sled (google this, easy to make) to finish it up.  

What you're looking for is to get one perfect 90* edge, so you can use the table saw/or planer if you want, to take both of the opposing faces down to final dimension.
That is kind of the way I was leaning.
Do you think a table-top bandsaw could handle this? I have a 9" but I was wondering if I would need a larger saw for this.
I don't work much with the band saw, but my smaller one is newer and blades are sharp. I think I have a 1/4 inch blade not sure if it will take a 1/2".

Also, yes I was planning on getting it to a workable size say within 1/8 inch the planing it down to my final 3.125" size posts.

thanks
Chalk line after you inspect to make sure you have good wood of sufficient dimension to one side.  Hot glue tack to a smooth piece of whatever so you won't get hung somewhere in the middle, and cut the line on the bandsaw.  Run the new face on the jointer for planar and make your 90 on the jointer to have a sound wood post. 

Snap your new lines about 1/4 greater in both dimensions and saw.  Relax for three-six days, re-sight, re-join for your good faces and take off the waste.
Better to follow the leader than the pack. Less to step in.
(03-14-2017, 10:30 AM)mikeminn221 Wrote: That is kind of the way I was leaning.