Failproof "Dark" QSWO Finish Please
I am getting close to finishing my most ambitious project to date.  If I screw up the finish on this, I will most likely sell all of my tools in disgust.  Help me avoid this.

It is QSWO Mission style media cabinet.  There are some pics of it in another thread.  Anyway, my "customer" is a huge fan of going to Home depot and buying "Dark Walnut" and staining everything with it.. 2x4's, plywood, whatever.  So she's not exactly particular... and wouldn't know much difference between authentic amonia fuming or whatever.

From my research, It looks like maybe "Brown Mahogany transtint dye - followed by Dark Walnut stain is very popular.  I'm a finishing noob.  I use "tried and true" for nearly everything I finish, but this project is too big, and she wants it darker.

What does the forum say?  Failproof?  And if possible, recommend exact products please if possible.  

Also note - I'm not setup to spray.
(04-05-2017, 09:52 AM)Strokes77 Wrote: I am getting close to finishing my most ambitious project to date.  If I screw up the finish on this, I will most likely sell all of my tools in disgust.  Help me avoid this.

It is QSWO Mission style media cabinet.  There are some pics of it in another thread.  Anyway, my "customer" is a huge fan of going to Home depot and buying "Dark Walnut" and staining everything with it.. 2x4's, plywood, whatever.  So she's not exactly particular... and wouldn't know much difference between authentic amonia fuming or whatever.

From my research, It looks like maybe "Brown Mahogany transtint dye - followed by Dark Walnut stain is very popular.  I'm a finishing noob.  I use "tried and true" for nearly everything I finish, but this project is too big, and she wants it darker.

What does the forum say?  Failproof?  And if possible, recommend exact products please if possible.  

Also note - I'm not setup to spray.

http://homesteadfinishingproducts.com/stickley.pdf