Wood stabilizer for spalted wood?
I've been looking at some really nice, spalted, curly maple slabs recently.  The spalted portion of the wood is soft & somewhat punky, but not totally "crumble in your hands" bad.  Not all of the slab is punky, most of it is solid and good to go.  If the punky parts were stabilized, it would yield incredible looking stock to work with.  What do you use to stabilize and harden up the softer, parts of spalted wood before working it? 
Is clear epoxy the answer?  Any suggestions on what has worked for you in the past?
Thanks,
On exterior window sills I have used MinWax wood hardener. Dont know if it give the look you may want.
http://www.minwax.com/wood-products/main...d-hardener
KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE EQUALS WISDOM. RMB
The SO asked me today, "what are you going to do to day"? I said "nothing".  She said, "that's what you did yesterday"! Me, "Yes love, but I was not finished yet"!!!!!!!!
Smirk

https://www.turntex.com/
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

You might try PolyAll 2000
1st remove the wood from any moisture, and allow it to dry by stickering it under cover. I don't like punky wood in my shop, the only time I have had critters was following some punky wood. Outdoors under a piece of roofing metal and off the ground will allow plenty of air circulation. If it were me I'd let it sit several weeks, and if after that time it's firewood, well life is crazy like that. Spalt is one thing, punky is another. All those hardeners are glorified plastic resin. I like working with wood. YMMV.
Worst thing they can do is cook ya and eat ya

GW
Use thin CA glue.  Just be sure to do it outside and even then, have a good respirator.  It will boil and smoke but tt will penetrate fairly far and harden things right up.