Jeep roof rack planning.
I am a serious photographer and recently ended up with a Jeep Cherokee 4WD, a step above a beater. Seriously considering adding a roof top platform for my photography. Something like Ansel Adams did, but not as large or permanent.

[Image: 506451-ansel_adams_1947_pontiac.jpg]

I will use gutter mounting brackets. The 4WD guys have some really nice and heavy ones that support sleeping platforms so that is not an issue. I am thinking about making the deck out of Baltic Birch ply. I use that in my kayaks and it handles weather amazingly well.  I am just trying to think ahead for what else I might want to include.

For example, I am thinking a angled wind screen at the front to keep the noise down and air flow clean. Not that is going to help MPG. But it will keep the airflow clean and not get under the platform since it is solid.

I need some sort of raised lip along the edge that you feel under the feet to warn you are at the edge. I want to keep in low profile but obvious need to keep safety in mind. I have considered buy teak boat handrails and mounting them but they are pricey and not sure how they would look.

So I am tossing around ideas for making something. Main thing is to feel it with your foot so you don't step off the edge.

[Image: 4115195.jpg]

I would apply some sort of no slip finish for sure!  Any other good ideas?
I have found how much a boat is used is inversely related to how much it weighs.

Kudzu Craft Lightweight kayaks

It would double as a tropic roof, effectively placing the car in the shade all the time.  Great in summers.

The only engineering really is how to mount to the gutters.  Standard rack hardware is available for that purpose:

http://www.rhinorack.com/products/roof-rack-parts

I would make it from 1 x 6 pressure treated lumber.  It is going to be exposed to the weather.

Also note that you will lose from 2 to 4 mpg with the rack in place (depending on how aerodynamic the shape of the original vehicle is).