What knives are in your Grizzly 6" jointer
I'm replacing the knives again this evening in my Grizzly G-0452 (6 inch jointer) and it's time to confront my years-long confusion about the knife size.

The manual clearly says to use 6 x 5/8 x 1/8 so that's what I've been using for 6 years but they seem too small for the cutter head.

If I raise the jack screws to their maximum extension and insert brand new Freud C-350 knives:

[Image: IMG_0663_zpsvcmiupnx.jpg]

[Image: IMG_1063_zps6u2trwau.jpg]

There is less than a 1/16" reveal between cutterhead and knife bevel.

[Image: IMG_0661_zpssgjkx7wd.jpg]

I don't like them that high but I do like a slight 1/32" reveal.  So my jack screws are within 1/64" of maxing out with BRAND NEW knives. 

I can't help but wonder if this jointer was designed for deeper knives.  In the photo you can see all the space under the knife.  I could fit a 7/8" knife in this cutterhead.

What do you use in your Grizzly?
If it were me I would replace those straight knives with this: Grizzly H7653 - 6" Indexable Spiral Cutterhead
[Image: h7653-867c99338bfd91f2093ee97cb51ac187.jpg]

Just drop it in and go. Comes complete with new bearings and pulley pre-installed. You will never regret it. I did the same on a Grizzly 8" a few years back and the difference was astounding.
"Well, my time of not taking you seriously is coming to a middle."
I've been wanting one of those for years!

This might just be the time to pull the trigger.

Mike
IME you are better off with holbren knives anyway and you can go to 11/16" to seat them a bit deeper. 

My Freud knives are too soft so they do not last very long. Brian's are better steel, hold an edge better 

edit to add: you do not even need 1/32 protrusion on a straight knife I generally shoot for a few thousandths ( whatever I can see)

Joe

I won't bother with the waste of a spiral head on a jointer. you've been here long enough to know my position