Am I to Stupid for WW?
After almost 30 years of putzzing around with ww, I still can't manage to re-saw on the bs. After many painstaking attempts and numerous fine tuning square of the blade & table, blade tension, Support & blade bearings etc. it still winds up cutting diagonally on a 1 X 7 board.

Am I the only one that's inept when it comes to this mystery?

Jim
Jim
Am I to too Stupid for WW?

If you can't spell, how can you hope to do WW?
No animals were injured or killed in the production of this post.
You need to do it with a single point contact fence then
Quote:Am I to Stupid for WW?

New Reply 

Yes. However, resawing on a BS has nothing to do with it.
Big Grin
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

I struggled with resawing on a tricked out Delta 14" saw for years. A bigger saw with a wider carbide toothed blade was my salvation, along with slowing down my feed rate to a creep. I am still impressed when I see someone slicing off <1/16" veneers, but I can get what I need.
Lumber Logs, domestic hardwoods at wholesale prices: http://www.woodfinder.com/listings/012869.php

Lumber Logs' blog: Follow the adventure
I solved this problem by giving the bandsaw away.  I am no longer constantly pissed off about whatever piece of wood was ruined on the band saw.  I haven't missed it, not even once, since it's been gone.  It was a Delta with riser block that never cut right despite countless days fooling with it and setting it up from scratch.  I think the only stupidity involved is continuing to spend time on a tool that doesn't do what it's supposed to do.

(Before the advocates for bandsaws jump all over me, yes, I did replace the guides, trued the wheels, tried a wider blade, read the books,etc.  None of it worked for me so I got rid of the aggravation.)