Floor medallion
At a friends camp for the weekend.  He has a round medallion approx 36" in diameter that he wants to inlay into his solid walnut floor. The floor is pre finished and has been down for 2 years.  The medallion came with a form which is used as a pattern to to router out the floor boards. He said the pattern fits pretty tight to the medallion. He was asking about wood movement which has been his hold up to installing.   I should also mention the medallion is solid walnut and maple.

I have zero experience here but thought to leave 1/16" around the perimeter and caulk but wanted to check here.  The challenge would then be evenly expanding the form for routing.  Anyone with experience here have some thoughts/advice?
~ Chris
How thick is the inlay?
Carolyn

Trip Blog for Twelve Countries:   [url=http://www.woodworkingtraveler.wordpress.com[/url]

"It's good to know, but it's better to understand."  Auze Jackson
The medallion is a full 3/4" thick to match the hardwood floors
~ Chris
I made two 18" maple & walnut medallions for a customer who installed them tight and then finished at the same time with the floor.  That was several years ago and have not heard of any problems.  IMHO as long as the medallion and the floor are of similar material (solid wood), movement should be similar in both.

In your case, installing in a prefinished floor, I would not be as worried about movement as much as getting them at the same height.  On the other hand, a black caulk ring around the medallion might act as a "high-lighter".
"I tried being reasonable..........I didn't like it." Clint Eastwood
I assume the template relies on a standard bushing in the router? You could machine a bushing with a 1/16" larger diameter, or just wrap and glue metal shimstock around the original bushing till it was the correct diameter to give you the relief you desired..