pergola support
We are having a paver patio put in and I was planning on building a pergola over it. The pergola is going to be free standing, not attached to the house. My thought was to put in some sonotubes and use a bracket on top to connect the post. At the top I would have some cross braces for support. The contractor putting in the patio didn't think that would be good enough. He thought there would still be too much movement in the posts. His suggestion is to sink the post in the concrete. I think his biggest concern is that 2 of the posts will have mock pillars about 3'-4' up around them. The way the pavers are designed there is a hole just big enough for a 4x4 to go up through the middle. I could attach the one side to the house but I have no experience dealing with the vinyl siding and figured it would just be easier to put in the extra posts. The posts next to the house would not have pillars around them. If I use a bracket on top of the concrete I would put the concrete level with the pavers and use molding around the bottom to hide the concrete. The contractor suggests putting the posts in the concrete and leaving that low enough to put gravel and pavers up to the post. My concern is the longevity of the posts and pergola. If the posts are bolted to footings they can be replaced. If the posts are sunk in the concrete replacing them would be impossible with out re doing the patio. The posts will be 4x4 PT wrapped in 1x cedar for looks. Any thoughts?
Find square tubing or weld some up then set those in the concrete. Drop your posts into them and run some screws and you should be as good as if the posts were in the concrete, but easy to replace at some point
The contractor is right. By setting the post below grade, you create a cantilever which will resist side loading way better than a post sitting on top of a pillar. Basically this is why a pole barn is so stout.