Garden Arbor
I'm brand new to the woodnet forum. I recently purchased the Woodsmith Plans for the Garden Arbor project, WoodsmithPlans.com, WS11106. I need to modify the plans to create an inside post to post dimension for a length of 72" instead of 48" shown on the plans. When I do this the geometry of the two arches will need to be changed since the length dimension will be two feet longer. Does anyone have any clever ideas how to adjust the curvature of the arch to fit the longer length dimension? It's been awhile since I took high school geometry!
If you can give us the length of the base (point to point at the bottom of the arch) , and the height of the arch at the tallest point, the radius can be calculated.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.
(09-15-2017, 11:46 PM)tonyheinrichs Wrote: I'm brand new to the woodnet forum. I recently purchased the Woodsmith Plans for the Garden Arbor project, WoodsmithPlans.com, WS11106. I need to modify the plans to create an inside post to post dimension for a length of 72" instead of 48" shown on the plans. When I do this the geometry of the two arches will need to be changed since the length dimension will be two feet longer. Does anyone have any clever ideas how to adjust the curvature of the arch to fit the longer length dimension? It's been awhile since I took high school geometry!

I guess I would redraw it (using SketchUp) and work out a new arch. Are you planning to make the arbor taller? If not, I think I would divide the arch in half and put them in the corners. 

Maybe something like this. I just eyeballed it from the photo on the website and the overall dimensions given so it's probably not exact. Note the detail added to the inner ends of the arches on the right.
[Image: 36862765660_bd2ab2bc9a.jpg]