Hide glue for bent lamination?
I am working on a table with curved rails. The bent lamination gave me fits and I have come to the realization that I have to make up another one as there is some twist in one of them.
I used titebond 3 originally but recently purchased TB liquid hide glue for another project (restoring am a antique rocker).
I have never used hide glue before, but I thought that it had a longer open time than regular wood glue?
Would it be suitable for gluing up a bent lamination?
Thanks
The issue with hide glue is that it can be temperature/humidity sensitive, so the excess open time is bought at a higher risk of future failure.

Plastic resin glue is your best bet, but I have made MANY bent wood parts in 30 years using TB 1 I like it because it dries hard, not flexible like TB II and III. 

Open time should not be as big an issue with proper prep and the right forms. I prefer two-piece forms. When made well, you get far better and more even pressure, use fewer clamps and are MUCH faster than one-piece forms with loads of clamps.

I cover layout making and using these two-sided forms in Episode 3 of Woodcademy TV, which you can watch for free on Amazon, even if you do not have Prime. www.woodcademy.com/wctv.
Ralph Bagnall
www.woodcademy.com
Watch Woodcademy TV free on our website.
Hide glue is all they had years ago so clearly it works.  But I use plastic resin glue and a one piece mold in a vacuum bag most of the time.  I once made some 10 or 12 ft long curved stair railings from 10 layers of 1/4" thick oak.  I used PRG, applied with a roller, and clamped the assembly against a one side mold with a couple of extra layers of wood on the clamp side to help distribute the load.  Yes, lots of clamps, but the joints were tight and the railings had zero spring back.

The open time on PRG is pretty short, although it's generally long enough if you work quickly.  For those times when I need more open time I use epoxy. 

John