circular saw jig question
Hello all. I am a relative newbie in the wood working world. I have completed a few projects (mostly floating shelving and a craft desk for my wife). To date, I've been able to knock those projects out with my table saw.

I just started working on a built in entertainment center using plywood and I am forced to breakdown the ply using a circular saw before I can safely rip/cut on my table saw.

I am having major issues cutting my plywood straight using the circular saw. I have cut a few pieces that aren't square and end up 1/8"-1/4" off on one end of the board. I created a circular saw jig using a straightedge but my question is, how do I know exactly where to line it up on my board if the board isn't square? How do I know that the jig will be straight when I line it up on my piece?

Thanks in advance.
(09-21-2017, 11:10 AM)lielec11 Wrote: Hello all. I am a relative newbie in the wood working world. I have completed a few projects (mostly floating shelving and a craft desk for my wife). To date, I've been able to knock those projects out with my table saw.

I just started working on a built in entertainment center using plywood and I am forced to breakdown the ply using a circular saw before I can safely rip/cut on my table saw.

I am having major issues cutting my plywood straight using the circular saw. I have cut a few pieces that aren't square and end up 1/8"-1/4" off on one end of the board. I created a circular saw jig using a straightedge but my question is, how do I know exactly where to line it up on my board if the board isn't square? How do I know that the jig will be straight when I line it up on my piece?

Thanks in advance.
The factory edges of sheet stock are square. 

I have two cutoff straightedge fixtures  this one is 8 feet long 
[Image: sawguide004.jpg]
This one is 4' long 
[Image: sawguide002.jpg]