rigid foam insulation
The 2" thick Foamair panels have an R-10 rating.  If I double up on this will it be equal to an R-20?

Also, this is scored to 12" widths.  If my studs are 14" on center then the space between studs is 12½".  Should I use a foam spray to fill in the gaps?
No animals were injured or killed in the production of this post.
(09-27-2017, 09:58 AM)Cooler Wrote: The 2" thick Foamair panels have an R-10 rating.  If I double up on this will it be equal to an R-20?

Also, this is scored to 12" widths.  If my studs are 14" on center then the space between studs is 12½".  Should I use a foam spray to fill in the gaps?

I wouldn't use rigid panels in a wall... too much effort plus you need to fill the gaps, I would guess this would make the project more expensive. Also, are you sure your studs are 14"?
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

I have 2 inch foam on my celestory roof, 4 x 8 panels (24) in total, sealed with white roofing compound over 'fiercer' glass like material.
I can hear snow flakes hitting the roof in winter,  ice and hail will chase me into a room not under roof.  My buddy in WA (Bellevue) in the early eighties had panels cut to stud spacing from 4 foot thick 4 x 8 'white' blocks of foam,  Some fit tight, some fit loose and some had to be fitted to size.  Even with plastic of the studs before 10 drywall panels he had air leakage.
I had my roof, filled with foam on the inside and some of the 'snowflake' noise went away.
I would try spray foam, but you need a professional to do this, too many horror stories on formaldehyde leaking due to improper mix, improper heat and out of date material.

Good Luck on any means that your do

Steve in SE PR
Crazy
Is fiberglass not an option? It's soooo easy.
Neil Summers Home Inspections

" What would Fred do?"

... CLETUS