Plaster for bathroom tub/shower wall - can I DIY it?
Have a question that hopefully you guys/gals can help me with.  I ripped out the tile from my mom's guest bathroom shower due to a leak and on the back wall which is an exterior brick wall, 3/4 of the wall was plaster but the bottom portion under the window was drywalled for some reason and had no plaster.  The plaster that is exsisting is in good shape and I don't want to remove that.  Should I plaster the remaining bottom section or do as they did before with building it out with drywall/hardibacker board?  I've never done plaster before but I'm willing to give it a try unless it's something that needs to be left up to the professionals.  

Here's a picture of the situation:  <a data-flickr-embed="true"  href="https://www.flickr.com/photos/8298745@N08/37423834242/in/dateposted-public/" title="IMG_9545">IMG_9545</a>

The plan is to put hardibacker board on all 3 walls of the shower, tape/seal then paint on a water membrane (RedGard) but first I need to tackle the plaster issue.  Is there anything besides plaster that I can put on the walls to level them out?  If plaster is the correct solution, is this a job that should be left up to professionals or can a DIYer tackle this?

Thanks for your input.
I'd use a backer board, bedded in thinset mortar over the brick portion. Select the thickness of the hardi and thinset to closely match the plaster level above. Redgard over all.

as far as attaching the board, just a few screws into the mortar will hold it until the thinset cures. Maybe use Tapcons instead of the 'normal' screws.
(10-02-2017, 02:15 PM)kencombs Wrote: I'd use a backer board, bedded in thinset mortar over the brick portion.  Select the thickness of the hardi and thinset to closely match the plaster level above.  Redgard over all.

as far as attaching the board, just a few screws into the mortar will hold it until the thinset  cures.  Maybe use Tapcons instead of the 'normal' screws.