Rob Cosman reviews a #1 hand plane
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8_dvsqlQSs

One minute vid of a Stanley #1 knockoff.  I've been jonesing for one of these for a few years, for the novelty, yet after actually seeing one in Rob's hand I'm beginning to rethink my collecting efforts.  I guess it would be good for a dust collector on a shelf or in the hands of a four year old kid, but for a real mans paw it would not be a real good fit.

A #2 is about the same in size so I guess a block plane would work just as well.  I will have to think long and hard before I throw down a pile of $$ for either a 1 or 2........or just keep trolling flea markets and hope one will turn up for five bucks.
(10-07-2017, 07:52 PM)Tynyyn Wrote: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=F8_dvsqlQSs

One minute vid of a Stanley #1 knockoff.  I've been jonesing for one of these for a few years, for the novelty, yet after actually seeing one in Rob's hand I'm beginning to rethink my collecting efforts.  I guess it would be good for a dust collector on a shelf or in the hands of a four year old kid, but for a real mans paw it would not be a real good fit.

A #2 is about the same in size so I guess a block plane would work just as well.  I will have to think long and hard before I throw down a pile of $$ for either a 1 or 2........or just keep trolling flea markets and hope one will turn up for five bucks.

There's a theory that the majority of Stanley No 2's were used by middle schoolers in shop class. Their small hands would work well with the plane. As far as the no 1 goes, I've heard musical instrument makers like using them. I've also heard they do well work working through tough grain like burls. I've never used a No 1, so I have no idea how well they work.
I've heard that woodworkers with arthritic hands would use the #1 instead of a block plane, by wrapping their hand around the back of the tote. I've tried this on my LN #1, but it seems a bit awkward.
Waiting to grow up beyond being just a member