<$100 hammer drills
I am going to be needing a hammer drill to drill 4  0.5" holes about 6" deep and a number of smaller holes for tapcons. I need to call the rental place about renting a hammer drill but I was wondering if the inexpensive ones will hold up to this kind of use? I would lean toward corded since i would rather spend the money on the working parts not on a battery.
Harbor freight, brother. Cheaper than a rental. One less trip
I've been using this 1/2" Dewalt hammer drill for about 18 years now and it would do your job with no problem. I occasionally drill 1-1/8" holes through brick and sometimes concrete. It isn't the fastest in concrete but a small 1/2" hole would be much faster.

[Image: dewalt-hammer-drills-dw511-64_1000.jpg]
(10-18-2017, 07:26 AM)daddo Wrote: I've been using this 1/2" Dewalt hammer drill for about 18 years now and it would do your job with no problem. I occasionally drill 1-1/8" holes through brick and sometimes concrete. It isn't the fastest in concrete but a small 1/2" hole would be much faster.

[Image: dewalt-hammer-drills-dw511-64_1000.jpg]

I have the same drill - and it has drilled a whole bunch more than four holes.

However, if I knew I was only going to drill four holes - and never have a need for a hammer drill again (Is that even possible - never needing a tool again?) - I would go the Harbor Freight. 

Luckily, if you get the masonry bits at the same time and the same place, they will both wear out at the same time.  Hopefully after you get four holes drilled.

Review a "Harbor Freight - gems" list before you go and pick up some of that stuff too.   Don't forget your free flashlight.  
Big Grin
Know Guns. Know Security. Know Freedom - - - No Guns. No Security. No Freedom

Guns are supposed to be dangerous. If yours is not dangerous you need to take it to a gunsmith and have it repaired.
Harbor Freight rotary hammer. Go full rotary hammer if you are drilling 1/2" holes.