Water Base Lacquer.
To those who have used it and those that might know. Does water base lacquer have as good as a finish as regular lacquer?  Is it as durable and does look as good? I am an old fire inspector so I know about the differences in flammability and to also to the enviorment. The one I have seen is Generel finishes.

t
(11-03-2017, 03:09 PM)pebbles Wrote: To those who have used it and those that might know. Does water base lacquer have as good as a finish as regular lacquer?  Is it as durable and does look as good? I am an old fire inspector so I know about the differences in flammability and to also to the enviorment. The one I have seen is Generel finishes.
I've only used part of a gallon of GF's PreCat lacquer.  I am not impressed.  It did not flow out nearly as well as other GF waterborne products.  I can't recommend you try it.  And I can't recommend Sherwin William's Kem Aqua Plus either.  It was even less impressive. 

Dave Diaman has really good things to say about Target Coatings EM-6000.  I just got a gallon of it in yesterday, but haven't tried it yet.  

GF's Enduro Clear Poly is not lacquer (WB lacquers aren't really lacquer either, they are acrylic.), it's an acrylic/polyurethane blend, but it is my favorite all around finish.  It sprays like a dream and is as clear as a water, and is very hard and durable.  If you can't spray, then look at GF's High Performance Poly (or EM-6000).  You can brush both of those products.  The HP Poly looks just like Enduro Clear Poly to me, sprays equally well, plus you can brush it on.  It also has a UV stabilizer package in it, but it's not as chemically durable as Clear Poly.  

OK, are WB products as good looking as solvent borne lacquer?  Yes, some of them, at least to me.  Enduro Clear Poly is gorgeous.  Are they as durable?  Same answer.  In fact, some are far more durable than regular NC lacquer, and on par with pre-cat lacquer.  

Hope that helps.

John