This Forum is so .... ( )
(11-23-2017, 11:23 AM)Tony Z Wrote: I have many, many vintage tools, including many vintage dividers (usually dirt cheap, even at antique malls).  I've been using dividers regularly for many years, but for the dividers I have, the ones I use most are a 12" pair, bought at, of all places, Harbor Freight.  Lock up nicely, and I ain't afraid to drop 'em, and cost all of $5.00 or so.  I'm sure HF has  mash hammer also, and probably a set of french curves.  To the hobby noobs here, it ain't the tools, but knowing how to use them.

There! Your tool review and back scratching. 

Shop at HF this Christmas. Just don't buy anything with a tail, a battery, the colored screw driver tips, those things containing rubber (mothball stench), and the wood tool chest or workbench. What else have I forgotten.... ? Make sure anything with a measurement is accurate.
(11-23-2017, 11:36 AM)hbmcc Wrote: There! Your tool review and back scratching. 

Shop at HF this Christmas. Just don't buy anything with a tail, a battery, the colored screw driver tips, those things containing rubber (mothball stench), and the wood tool chest or workbench. What else have I forgotten.... ? Make sure anything with a measurement is accurate.

A HF fanboy I ain't! But there are a few things (very few) there worth getting.

To our noobs here, soon they will all discover there isn't a vintage tool that can't do all the things that modern boutique maker's tools do. Sooner or later, that $300 handsaw will need sharpened, as will that chisel or handplane.
Waiting to grow up beyond being just a member
www.metaltech-pm.com