Bittering agent addition to house paint?
We have a dog that chews on our window stools. I think he does it because he's an a-hole, but my wife says he does it when we get home late which does seem to be the pattern. Of course, once he chews one up, he doesn't do it again--that is until I replace it. So now that we're selling our house, I need to replace two stools but want to make sure he doesn't chew them up before we move out.

I've tried the bitter apple spray and I swear he'd use it like a condiment if he had thumbs. Pulling out his teeth is off the table.

Is there something I can add to the primer/paint to immediately make him think twice--not cyanide?

Thanks
Paul
(12-07-2017, 08:43 AM)atgcpaul Wrote: not cyanide?

Sorry, can't help.

I've heard tabasco works... but it will probably stain.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

I have no first hand experience, but maybe a few thoughts:
I doubt that there is anything to mix into the paint. Could be wrong. If there is, I think once he (the dog) tastes it the damage is done.
Sounds like some intensive training might be in order. I'm no dog trainer, so I can't suggest how to go about it.
A former neighbor had an electric wire mounted on his fence to keep his "digging" dog in. It gave a mild electric shock and it worked. One shock and the dog stayed away from the fence. Maybe just the windows or the side of the house could be protected with something like this.
I wonder if stools made of solid vinyl or with vinyl/aluminum cladding would work.
Since you only need to protect them until sold, could you put up some temporary fencing around each window?