Just wondering
is there some ancient chinese secret for cutting, to the correct length, on the first (or at least second) attempt, a dang miter cut for face frames (or, anything, for that matter).

i saw some esoteric calculator thingy once. didn't work at all.

i have to believe nibbling my way to nirvana just can't be right.

[be gentle...i'm a newbie...]
Using a stop on a sled/miter Gauge is a pretty good way.
(12-23-2017, 07:16 PM)TadMcD Wrote: is there some ancient chinese secret for cutting, to the correct length, on the first (or at least second) attempt, a dang miter cut for face frames (or, anything, for that matter).

i saw some esoteric calculator thingy once. didn't work at all.

i have to believe nibbling my way to nirvana just can't be right.

[be gentle...i'm a newbie...]

For face frames, I simply use the inside width/length of the opening(s) as the starting point.

For picture frames, I cut the first miter, lay the glass/glass template/picture in the rabbet and mark+ 1/8". Transfer where the mark touches the vertical edge of the rabbet and transfer that mark to the top of the stock. Mark the angle to bisect that mark and cut, just taking the line.

Set the TS sled/miter gauge extension stop to the correct length and cut the second piece.

Repeat for different lengths.

I'm not good with math, so failed to be able to use the formulas for cutting to length using stock width/other measurements. This method may be more work, but it only fails when I do not pay attention.

I forgot to mention, I ceased trying to get good miter cuts(for picture frames/faceframes) on a miter box. I have a DeWalt 12" compound miter saw. I have a Fine Finish blade(Freud) as one blade. Problem? That blade flexes just a tiny bit or the stock moves just a tad, creating a step cut. That causes gaps in miters.

I finally just started using the same blade(in a 10" size) and either a home made sled or an Incra V-27 miter gauge with an extension.