Jointer tune up
I have an 8" Jet jointer that I bought new about 17 years ago. I am an avid intermediate woodworker that wants to advance my quality of work and make things easier. Not knowing the tolerances of my jointer in the past but checking them recently my infeed table is .015 high on the infeed end farthest from the cutter head, 32" away from the knives, side to side measurements are within a few thousands.
        Will I notice much of a difference of the quality of cut if I correct the tolerance to a few thousands? Is it much of a job to lower the end of the table? I do have good measuring tools and a 8' precision straight edge.
         Thanks for your input,
          Phil
so what's that, like a 64th of an inch?

Al
I turn, therefore I am!
(12-27-2017, 04:27 PM)woodhead Wrote: so what's that, like a 64th of an inch?

Al

Yes a 64th of an inch which may cause a convex curve in the center of a long board. That is my question is it worth while to get the table into the recommended manufactures tolerance.
So you used a 5' or 6' long straight edge, clamped to the outfeed table and extending to the end of your infeed table, and have determined that the end of the infeed table is .015" closer to the straight edge than the front of the infeed table is?

The first question I'd have for you is, is your straight edge certified straighter than .005" per foot, because .015" over 36" is .005" per foot and a lot of lower-end straight edges aren't any straighter than that.  OTOH, I know Lee Valley makes some aluminum units they state are straight to .003" over their entire length and aren't all that expensive.

The next question I'd have for you is, if you joint two 6' long boards and place them next to each other, do you have gaps at the ends, and have you measured the gaps with a feeler gauge?