Natural fiber brush for poly
What's your favorite brush for varnish or poly. I'm considering a natural bristle brush, ox hair or badger hair. I want a brush that does a great job but also one that retains its shape and function after cleaning. (assuming a proper cleaning and storing of course). If they last. price is not a real factor. Thinking about 2".

I usually use a pad. cheesecloth wrapped in cotton material. Works great but coats are thin sometimes and require quite a few for a deeper film. I also spray. Not really asking what is best technique. Just want to know a good natural fiber brush. Brand or place to buy would also be helpful.

Thanks,

Mike
I've been suing Redtree brushes for probably 20 years now...good long life (when cleaned properly) and easy to find at Jamsetown Distributors. Bear in mind they aren't really badger hair, but they are really good brushes. If you're hankering to spend more money, check out the European ox hair brushes.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.
If you consider manufacturer's advice, natural bristles are not optimal for poly. Good, very good for shellac. Don't ask me why, someone else would know the specific reasons.
Credo Elvem ipsum etiam vivere
Non impediti ratione cogitationis
(12-31-2017, 03:22 PM)Admiral Wrote: If you consider manufacturer's advice, natural bristles are not optimal for poly.  Good, very good for shellac.  Don't ask me why, someone else would know the specific reasons.

what poly can did you read that off of?  The oil based polys and varnishes I've used,  all called for natural bristle brushes.  The water based ones called for poly bristle brushes.  Then I skip the brushes and use a rag and rub it on.  Neither say anything about that.