Getting (More) Started
Hi Everyone,  I am not new to making thinbgs out of wood, but I am new to any kind of Forum or help thread.  I learned how to make a box cabinet back when I was about 12 from a neighbor across the street.  Of course, he did about 95% of the building, but that got me started.

Now, in my old age, I find myself a volunteer with a non-profit educational organisation, and am desperately learning many types of things in order to do whatever is needed to accomplish tasks.  One is making things out of wood.  I've been building most things with my basic hand tools and some hand power tools, but am starting to run into difficulties accomplishing more complex tasks.

The first problem I have is that I live in a very small house, which has become to look like a warehouse with all my tools and wood stored inside.  I have a small 10x12 metal shed behind the house to store my work site rolling table saw and a few bench type electric tools.  But I don't have anything but a patio to work on.  And I presently do not have a workbench on with to work.  So there is my problem, no place to work or clamp my work to.

I am guessing that my first project is to build a simple rolling workbench.  I have six heavy duty wheels for this purpose, but would like help on how to go about making a workbench that can stay outside, and survive in my climate.  I live in the high desert of southern California, Twentynine Palms.  It can get very hot, and does get down into the high teens during some winters.  It is mostly a dry climate, but we do get monsoonal flow up from Baja, California, that can cause severe flooding.  I have finally gotten my property pretty much flood proofed, except for what some call the 1000 year flood.  We had one back in 2003 and I almost lost my house.  We also get some terrible winds, sometimes nearing 100 mph gusts.