Home Made Veneer Help
I am building a walnut side table and I'd like to veneer (1/4" thick) the front of the drawer with some nicely figured walnut. I plan to do a book match so it will have a seam or two. If I wasn't doing that I'd make the entire drawer front from a piece of walnut. 

I plan to use poplar for the drawer with through dovetails and then add the veneer. 

I have little experience with this stuff and I am asking for advise or a good resource to help me accomplish this.

I am curious about gluing/clamping strategies and how to hold the veneer together tightly before gluing. Jointing edges square and such.

I may do a single book-match initially or attempt a "double" with 4 equal sized pieces with the junction point at the center of the drawer front.

Should I consider taping the joint? What glue is best. I don't want the pieces to creep if possible.

Thoughts?
(01-10-2018, 09:43 AM)sawnuts Wrote: I am building a walnut side table and I'd like to veneer (1/4" thick) the front of the drawer with some nicely figured walnut. I plan to do a book match so it will have a seam or two. If I wasn't doing that I'd make the entire drawer front from a piece of walnut. 

I plan to use poplar for the drawer with through dovetails and then add the veneer. 

I have little experience with this stuff and I am asking for advise or a good resource to help me accomplish this.

I am curious about gluing/clamping strategies and how to hold the veneer together tightly before gluing. Jointing edges square and such.

I may do a single book-match initially or attempt a "double" with 4 equal sized pieces with the junction point at the center of the drawer front.

Should I consider taping the joint? What glue is best. I don't want the pieces to creep if possible.

Thoughts?