sketchup question
I am pretty new to skecthup but I know the basics and can build up simple things from scratch. What I'm hoping to learn more about is how to use the 3D warehouse to design cabinets and generate a cutlist. I have installed the cutlist extension but am unsure how to use it with premade cabinets from the 3D warehouse. My hope is to find the style of cabinet I want, adjust the dimensions, and create a cutlist. Ideally I'd like to be able to do this for an entire kitchen worth of cabinets. Any ideas how to accomplish this?
How do you know you're learning anything if you don't screw up once in awhile?

My blog: http://birdsandboards.blogspot.com/
(01-12-2018, 10:45 PM)mr_skittle Wrote: I am pretty new to skecthup but I know the basics and can build up simple things from scratch. What I'm hoping to learn more about is how to use the 3D warehouse to design cabinets and generate a cutlist. I have installed the cutlist extension but am unsure how to use it with premade cabinets from the 3D warehouse. My hope is to find the style of cabinet I want, adjust the dimensions, and create a cutlist. Ideally I'd like to be able to do this for an entire kitchen worth of cabinets. Any ideas how to accomplish this?

It would be possible to do this if, and this is the big if, the cabinets you download from the 3D Warehouse are drawn with the intent of being used that way. Often the cabinets are drawn as simple boxes designed for show not for construction. In order to get a cutlist you'll need to have each part you'd make in the shop as a component. If you can find this sort of cabinet in the 3D Warehouse, you'll be in good shape.

Kitchen cabinets aren't especially difficult to draw up in SketchUp and I would suggest doing them yourself. You can make them as you would build them. Once you drawn the first, the rest can be made from it meaning you don't have to draw every one from scratch. If you want a hand working that out, I'd be happy to help you. Drop me a PM.