Shoddy trim carpentry
(02-02-2018, 01:47 PM)FS7 Wrote: The only way I'd really be happy is if I had enough time, money, and land to build a home over several years, doing as much of it myself as possible. Reality doesn't support that

+1

I was fortunate enough to buy a well built home completed in the late 60's from the original owners. It still had the original carpet.
Laugh I did all of the updating myself. A friend of mine is a painting contractor, he took me into a subdivision that he has been working in for a couple years. Homes start at 300K and go up to 800K. It was disappointing to see the lack of craftsmanship. He said they are banging houses out just as fast as they can.
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

Where I live Ryan Homes are cheap; no other way to put it.  So I'm not surprised the trim work on yours is poor.  But even higher end homes can have poor trim work, and many of the ones I see do.  And stair work?  Forget it.  It's almost always poor.  There are a few builders that do a great job, a couple that blow me away with the care they take, and the end results are stunning.  The only way to get that quality is to seek out those builders, specify what you want, and be willing to pay for it.  

John
(02-02-2018, 02:31 PM)jteneyck Wrote: Where I live Ryan Homes are cheap; no other way to put it.  So I'm not surprised the trim work on yours is poor.  But even higher end homes can have poor trim work, and many of the ones I see do.  And stair work?  Forget it.  It's almost always poor.  There are a few builders that do a great job, a couple that blow me away with the care they take, and the end results are stunning.  The only way to get that quality is to seek out those builders, specify what you want, and be willing to pay for it.  

John