Why Teach Woodworking?
Hi Everyone, quick backstory, I have been a woodworking and engineering teacher for the last 11 years and loved it.  This year, I changed jobs to a different school and left behind a great shop and teaching schedule.  We made the move to be closer to family.  I now teach mostly engineering and manufacturing (welding, machine shop, sheet metal).  It is not the same as woods.  Recently, an opportunity came to teach at a career center in an engineering program.  Problem is, it would only be half day.  However, I started thinking that this career center and the students in the area would benefit greatly from a full scale woodworking (furniture and cabinetry) program.  Allowing me to teach engineering half the day and woods the other half.  I started drafting a proposal for the principal of the center on the benefits of a solid woodworking program.  However, most career centers thrive on the ability to say students are ready for work in such and such a field.  I do not know the need for students in wood manufacturing and which careers truly exist for students with these skill sets.  So, I ask, why teach woodworking.........from all the experience on this forum, what will a student gain from developing skills in woodworking and what careers are possible from learning woodworking?

Also, I would plan on teaching CNC, which no matter the material has practical applications in many areas of industry.  I also hold many personal beliefs about the impact woodworking has had on me personally, and knowing that I only wish I was introduced to it earlier in life.  Please share and I thank you for your comments.
There are those who know a lot more about this than I do. While teaching woodworking would set someone up for a nice hobby, but a real struggle (in most cases) to make a living at it. There are exceptions to everything; but I certainly would not advise anyone to select woodworking as a vocation. Just my opinion.