How much weight can a hollow core door take?
Wifey bought a jewelry "cabinet" that can either hang atop a door or be attached to a wall.  It weighs 22 pounds empty, prolly 25 when full.  She wants to hang it over an interior closet door (hollow core) that has 3 standard hinges.

Can one hang 25 pounds on a door like this with no negative repercussions (other than the door getting pulled off the hinges in the middle of the night)?

I think it's too heavy.

Your thoughts?
I think it will be fine. Assuming the screws are in good wood. If it's the kind that hangs over the top of the door, I'd see any harm in hanging it up to check the operation. 

If you don't want it hung there, tell her the guys on WN said it won't work.
Big Grin
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

If the screws are installed properly, I'd bet you could remove all but the upper screw in the hinge and it would hold 25# just fine. Unless they use press board for supports in the doors...which I wouldn't doubt.
Should be fine.
As a just in case, sleep at night........put one or two 3" long screws in the upper hinge. Those will bite into more wood.
Steve

Mo.

I miss the days of using my dinghy with a girlfriend too. Zack Butler-4/18/24

The Revos apparently are designed to clamp railroad ties and pull together horrifically prepared joints
WaterlooMark 02/9/2020

(02-27-2018, 04:25 PM)Stwood_ Wrote: Should be fine.
As a just in case, sleep at night........put one or two 3" long screws in the upper hinge. Those will  bite into more wood.

The door itself would not have any problem holding the weight but, anchoring the jewelry box to the door may require Molly type anchors as there will not be a structure inside the door other than the edges.  Roly