How does everyone save for tools
Wife makes her money and I make mine.  We agree on financial responsibilities and as long as those are met we buy what we want when we want without permission from the other.
M. Carlin

There's no point to getting old if you don't have stories.
Gizmo: BINGO! The Squeeze and I have been doing the same for almost 40 years. So far it has worked very, very well.
I'm 58, have worked hard all my life, and I'm fortunate to be in a position where I can just buy what I want.  I usually discuss a major purchase with my wife (say over $1,000) but otherwise I just buy it.

Woodworking is my hobby, but I have an LLC (dwfinedesigns.com and instagram @dwfinedesigns - works in progress) and I am hopeful to at least pay my expenses at the end of next year as I work less and spend more time in the shop.
(03-16-2018, 05:06 PM)gizmo Wrote: Wife makes her money and I make mine.  We agree on financial responsibilities and as long as those are met we buy what we want when we want without permission from the other.

My bride has her own theory, "What's yours is mine and what's mine is mine."  I get an allowance every paycheck, she gets the rest.  She paid off the mortgage almost exactly 30 years after we bought our first of 5 different houses (serial relocation for work) and has been regularly funding the 401k and IRA, so I have no complaints.  She's no spendthrift, and good managing money.  It's nice not having a mortgage payment.
Credo Elvem ipsum etiam vivere
Non impediti ratione cogitationis
Great thread.

We’ve been DINKS (Dual Income - No Kids) and happily married for 20 years, so that certainly helps the bank account.

I do have several (seemingly spendy) hobby pastimes but...
I don’t drink.
I don’t smoke.
I don’t gamble.
I don’t have any expensive motorized toys like boats, motorcycles, race cars, or ATVs.