Frameless Kitchen Cabinets
Getting ready to redo our kitchen, including new cabinets, and I don't have time to do it myself.  While I have built quite a few cabinets with face frames, I have no experience with frameless cabinets.  I really like the clean look, but I am worried about long term issues, mainly racking.  We will be using cabinet boxes with plywood instead of mdf, and shaker-style doors.  Should I stick with face frames?  Anyone out there have frameless cabinets for 10 or more years without racking?  I don't want to invest the money in cabinets that rack in a decade, but love the look of frameless.

Thanks for any opinions/help.
Chris
(03-11-2018, 11:56 AM)pineville Wrote: Getting ready to redo our kitchen, including new cabinets, and I don't have time to do it myself.  While I have built quite a few cabinets with face frames, I have no experience with frameless cabinets.  I really like the clean look, but I am worried about long term issues, mainly racking.  We will be using cabinet boxes with plywood instead of mdf, and shaker-style doors.  Should I stick with face frames?  Anyone out there have frameless cabinets for 10 or more years without racking?  I don't want to invest the money in cabinets that rack in a decade, but love the look of frameless.

Thanks for any opinions/help.

Frameless don't rack if they are built square and installed plumb, level, and square.  I built and installed my kitchen 22 years ago using Melamine for the boxes and plywood panels with hardwood stiles for the doors.  I've had zero issues with them.  I'm actually redoing the doors and drawer fronts right now to update the look, but the cabinets will stay.  They are in perfect shape and I like the design so there's no reason to change them.  

John
You can screw and glue the plywood to inner corner cleats to keep the boxes square and strong.
Wood is good.