Kick back question
I had a kickback the other day.  Not too bad, but still 8 stitches and an emergency room visit.

I was ripping a piece of poplar.  I had moved the fence back to just even with the last teeth on the saw. I was using a piece of MDF as a pusher.

I finished the cut and then the small piece between the fence and the blade kicked back to the MDF and the MDF ripped my hand.  

I've made many similar cuts in the past with the fence moved back like that with no issues.  

Questions:

I will check the alignment of the fence in a few days.  What is the best way to check it?  How often should I be checking the alignment.

My saw did not come with a riving knife and I was not using the splitter.  I've ordered a MicroJig splitter.  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B03...UTF8&psc=1

And one of their push blocks:  https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001I9...UTF8&psc=1

I'm self-taught on woodworking.  I've been doing this for 20+ years and this is the first time I've experienced it.  

Any suggestions?
No animals were injured or killed in the production of this post.
(03-26-2018, 01:57 PM)Cooler Wrote: I finished the cut and then the small piece between the fence and the blade kicked back to the MDF and the MDF ripped my hand.  

I'm not exactly clear what happened by your description... Just to clarify, did you push the piece between the blade and the fence all of the way through? Did it kick back during that process?
Mark

I'm no expert, unlike everybody else here - Busdrver

Nah...I like you, young feller...You remind me of my son... Timberwolf 03/27/12

Here's a fact: Benghazi is a Pub Legend... CharlieD 04/19/15

(03-26-2018, 02:23 PM)CLETUS Wrote: I'm not exactly clear what happened by your description... Just to clarify, did you push the piece between the blade and the fence all of the way through? Did it kick back during that process?