Shop wiring question
I am getting things laid out to wire the outlets in my shop.
It is an unfinished detached garage.
I just had a 100 amp service panel installed so I have plenty of room for new circuits.
I would like to have 2 110v circuits running down the length of the wall. I want to be able to run the shop vac and say a palm sander from the same spot using individual circuits.

Should I use 2 gang boxes with an outlet for each circuit (differently colored) or use 2 single boxes on the opposite sides of the same studs?
I would like to space 3 of these about 6 feet apart.
There will be 2 220v outlets between the 3 110s.
I am not an electrician, just a DIY'er.

I would use (an am using) 2 gang boxes.  When I cover the studs, I will have to cut one hole in the paneling (OSB or plywood).  I am using deep boxes so that I do not have an issue with wire count.  I am also using Wago connectors.  They take up much less room in the box.
I tried not believing.  That did not work, so now I just believe
I would do separate boxes- easier for me to keep things straight, but tgat’s Just me

I would run two circuits down the wall and space the receptacles at whatever your desired spacing is. Then just wire each circuit to every other receptacle like this:    1-----2-----1-----2-----1-----2   No real need for small tools like those to be used on separate circuits, many people use Festool vacs for instance with the sander plugged right into the vacuum. Often people who have dealt with overloaded circuits and continual breaker trips want to go overkill when they wire up a new shop, but done correctly you won't have those problems. The above setup works great, just limit the number of receptacles you wire to each circuit and this layout will help keep the load distributed.
(03-30-2018, 07:34 AM)goaliedad Wrote: I would do separate boxes- easier for me to keep things straight, but tgat’s Just me