track saw dilema
I've been eyeing a track saw for a couple of years now but have never had the "extra" funds to pay for one. After doing a custom built-in I suddenly have the "extra" funds. I put "extra" in parenthesis because I've never had money that couldn't go towards bills or retirement or something responsible like that. And to make the problem even more complicated, there is a recent chain of events that has left me conflicted. It all started a couple months ago when the ACME tools catalog came in the mail...

I'm not really in the market for any new tools but I always like to look through the catalog anyway, because I'm that kind of tool nerd. When I got to the Makita pages the plunge cut track saw caught my eye. Then I remembered an article in the most recent woodsmith mag comparing some of the track saws on the market. I didn't pay much attention to the article because, as I said, the price tag was out or reach but I do remember that the Makita saw got great reviews. When I noticed the price in the ACME catalog I was floored. Makita has a deal now that throws in extra batteries and an accessory for the tool so this set cam with a saw, charger, 4 batteries, and a 55" track for $350!!! I was blown away!! I put away a bit from a couple paychecks and called to order it a couple weeks later. I was crushed to hear that the catalog price was a misprint and that the saw wasn't available for the price. At this point I was again resigned to not owning a track saw.