Bandsaw Tries - Clean or Replace?
Hi All - I have a Delta 12" bandsaw that was purchased in 1993 - has been used infrequently and for quick cuts only - the other day I changed the blades (switched to a 1/4" one to cut out a polycarbonate base for my new Rigid cordless router - another tread).  Well, I noticed some minor saw dust & resin on the tires (see pics below) - the blades track fine - but was just wondering, what are the recommendations for cleaning these tires (not sure of the material - assume some type of synthetic rubber) or should each be replaced periodically, especially after 25 years in my shop - thanks for any comments.  Dave
Smile

Attached Files Image(s)

Piedmont North Carolina
Dave, I am no expert!!!!!  If it were me, I would clean the tires carefully but thoroughly and call it good.  I think you will know without a doubt when it is time to change tires.  Don't remember now just how I knew mine had  to be changed, but there was no question.

Probably someone is going to chime in and say don't listen to that Holt guy, he's all wet.  And I may be.
"I tried being reasonable..........I didn't like it." Clint Eastwood
(05-07-2018, 04:47 PM)Bill Holt Wrote: Dave, I am no expert!!!!!  If it were me, I would clean the tires carefully but thoroughly and call it good.  I think you will know without a doubt when it is time to change tires.  Don't remember now just how I knew mine had  to be changed, but there was no question.

Probably someone is going to chime in and say don't listen to that Holt guy, he's all wet.  And I may be.