What wood for carved/routed signs?
wood2woodknot  -  

I'm in Mason, not too far from you.
I have some redwood boards (reclaimed from a large carved outdoor sign) and some sassafras lumber.
If you don't find any cedar that you like, shoot me a PM.  You're welcome to look at what I have.
(05-31-2018, 11:19 AM)wood2woodknot Wrote: My son wants some signs for outside:   His name and house number for front of house; several signs for around his pool and patio. Thus at least limited outdoor exposure for all. They will be either hand carved or routed texts. I've never done a project like this before so I'm starting from scratch. What would be the best wood to use - easy to carve or rout, but something that will hold up outdoors? Maybe redwood, cedar, or cypress? Other?  I may accent lettering with a contrasting color, but that will be a secondary concern.

This project has been hanging over my head for some time and I'm hoping maybe to complete it over the summer.

Thanks for any suggestions.

It depends of the effects you wish to have.

I know people up north who wish to keep the sign a lot time use White Ceder. I have used Red Ceder and others use White Oak.  The White Ceder and Oak will have a of course white back ground to paint or do whatever with.

I did one 7 years abo and traced everything out and then removed everything but what I wished to say and it came out really nice.  Looked for the picture but could not find it.
As of this time I am not teaching vets to turn. Also please do not send any items to me without prior notification.  Thank You Everyone.

It is always the right time, to do the right thing.
Arlin,

I'm told white cedar comes out of Alaska. Seldom seen by suppliers around here. Thanks for your info.

White cedar is from the northeastern part of the US and adjacent Canada -
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thuja_occidentalis
http://www.wood-database.com/northern-white-cedar/