Repair or Replace
My Harbour Freight dust collector just died. I have had it for maybe 10 years but it was used only lightly since I have not been doing much in the last 4 years. I recently started back and it was running the other day and just stopped. I have checked to make sure nothing was lodged, etc. the blades spin freely so I am stumped. I have limited electrical experience so I am trying to decide if I find a small electric engine repair person or just buy a whole new unit.

Thoughts?
Five bucks says it's the power switch on the motor.  They have a reputation for letting go.  Open the switch box, and check for continuity (unplugged, of course) when in the 'on' position.  Or for line voltage if plugged in, but I assume you're not comfortable with working on live electrics.

Another option would be to bypass the switch temporarily and plug it in to see if it starts.

But I'm still betting on the switch being bad.
Yes

Edit: Mine still works after all these years, but the switch stays on and I control it with a remote switch, since my blower is on top of my cyclone, up in the joists.
Tom

“This place smells like that odd combination of flop sweat, hopelessness, aaaand feet"
(07-29-2018, 05:51 PM)TDKPE Wrote: Five bucks says it's the power switch on the motor.  They have a reputation for letting go.  Open the switch box, and check for continuity (unplugged, of course) when in the 'on' position.  Or for line voltage if plugged in, but I assume you're not comfortable with working on live electrics.

Another option would be to bypass the switch temporarily and plug it in to see if it starts.

Yes

Edit:  Mine still works after all these years, but the switch stays on and I control it with a remote switch, since my blower is on top of my cyclone, up in the joists.

+1
I don't have mine anymore , but the switch did fail .

If it can't kill you it probably ain't no good. Better living through chemicals.