Contactor quit on me
Gentlemen: My contactor on my 1968 Delta tablesaw has quit on me. It is a Furnas model and of course they no longer exist.
Any suggestions on what to get to get my saw working again?
I am NOT an electrician to wire one up but I have contacts who can so any info will help.
Thanks
Can you show a pic of the internals?  An old Furnas will likely have a NEMA contactor with auxiliary contacts for the push button station plus heaters for overload protection, and a transformer if it's a low-voltage control.  Any of those parts should be replaceable.  

Alternatively, you can just buy a complete motor control unit from Grizzly and others for about $100.  Like this one, for 3 hp motors on 240V circuits.  http://www.grizzly.com/products/Magnetic...25A/T24101

There are others for the same price for different voltages and max hp ratings and current ranges.
Tom

“This place smells like that odd combination of flop sweat, hopelessness, aaaand feet"
Find a good electrical supply house.  Take the old one in and ask them what you can fix/replace it with.  A good shop will tell you what's available that will work and help you find the best solution.

And they will tell you what to put where to make it work.
Laugh
"Truth is a highway leading to freedom"  --Kris Kristofferson

Wild Turkey
We may see the writing on the wall, but all we do is criticize the handwriting.
(joined 10/1999)
(09-04-2018, 06:08 PM)TDKPE Wrote: Can you show a pic of the internals?  An old Furnas will likely have a NEMA contactor with auxiliary contacts for the push button station plus heaters for overload protection, and a transformer if it's a low-voltage control.  Any of those parts should be replaceable.  

Alternatively, you can just buy a complete motor control unit from Grizzly and others for about $100.  Like this one, for 3 hp motors on 240V circuits.  http://www.grizzly.com/products/Magnetic...25A/T24101