Aligning Multiple Cases
This will be the first time I'm building adjacent, connected, cases. The project will be 3 bookcases surrounding a family room window, two tall cases on either side and one low case under the window connecting all 3 together. My question is how should I design the cases to anticipate the possibility of an un-level floor? 

There must be a reliable common method for doing this but I have since I have no experience I've come up with two options: 

Option 1 - gamble the newly installed hardwood floor is pretty level and don't worry about it. Build the 3 cases, 3/4" birch ply, install and screw the cases together. Curse about gaps between cases that won't close (due to un-level floor). Custom cut face frames to cover the gaps (that sounds hard). The "top of the bases" of the 3 face frames won't align perfect but nobody will notice a 1/4" from left to right.

Option 2 - Worry about it. Build a 3.5" toe kick box for each case. Install the kick boxes and shim the tops of those boxes as necessary so that the 3 book cases will sit on those boxes and be perfectly aligned. When I screw the 3 cases together, they should (in theory) close together perfectly with no gaps between them, and the "top of the bases" of each case will also line up. If things don't align, re-shim the kick boxes until they do. In this case I could build and install the poplar face frames for each case up front instead of trying to custom cut them post install.

In Option 1, the sides of the cases sit on the floor. In Option 2, the sides never reach the floor but instead rest on the kick boxes creating a new seam. That sounds bad.

Would you recommend either of these plans or is there a better way?

Thanks for any ideas!
Check out leg levelelers such as Blum manufactures. Thats all I've used for years on anything with toe kicks. Then just cover them with a toe kick board. Easy as it gets. No having to build the boxes with the toe kick anymore.