Chips coming off fast, sting my left hand
I'm sure I am doing something wrong.

I'm new to turning.  Cut up a log to make a bowl.  As I start roughing, the chips coming off the roughing gouge fire straight in to the fatty part of my left hand, and it's too painful to turn.  I had to put a glove on, which I know aint a real good idea.

What am I doing wrong?  Are the chips supposed to hit right on your hand like that?  I'm pretty dang tough, but no way it's supposed to be like that?

Appreciate any help.  I tried googling to no avail.
(10-28-2018, 10:26 AM)Strokes77 Wrote: I'm sure I am doing something wrong.

I'm new to turning.  Cut up a log to make a bowl.  As I start roughing, the chips coming off the roughing gouge fire straight in to the fatty part of my left hand, and it's too painful to turn.  I had to put a glove on, which I know aint a real good idea.

What am I doing wrong?  Are the chips supposed to hit right on your hand like that?  I'm pretty dang tough, but no way it's supposed to be like that?

As a general rule, you shouldn't use a roughing gouge for turning a bowl.  A bad catch, and you can snap the gouge at the tang.  A spindle gouge, or better yet a bowl gouge, is safer and will work better.

If you are still having problems, you can try adjusting your angle of attack to control the path of the chips.  If you are religious about keeping your gloved hand away from the spinning work piece, you can turn with a glove.  I don't but Lyle Jamieson does, so there's that.  Finally, adjusting the speed might alter the trajectory.
(10-28-2018, 10:26 AM)Strokes77 Wrote: I'm sure I am doing something wrong.

Agree with badwhiskey. Best to rough a bowl with a bowl gouge or spindle gouge. Here's one example...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIvROyV2n6w
[attachment=14025 Wrote:Strokes77 pid='7682056' dateline='1540740417']I'm sure I am doing something wrong.