How would you mount this escutcheon?
I want to recess this into the face of a box and THINK I know what to do but want to ask you guys first. Box is 1/2" thick.

1) Chisel out a recess just deep enough so that the escutcheon sits *just* proud of the surface. Make it a tight, friction fit.

2) Drill/file the opening for the key.

3) Apply a tiny bit of epoxy to secure it in the hole.

I've never done this before. Help!

Attached Files Image(s)

Semper fi,
Brad

You are already half way there.

The lines you have drawn where you want it should
work just fine.

Xacto knife under very bight light. Cut along the line,
obviously VERY carefully. Shallow at first.  Then go back
over it a bit deeper.

Now you have the "walls" of the small area defined.
A very sharp chisel , or a VERY small router plane,
and going very slowly, frequently checking with the
escutcheon itsself.

These are the kinda fiddly jobs that you just sorta zone
out and do. Don't overthink it.  The escutcheon will tell
you when you are done.

Least ways, that's what I would do!!

Post up the pic of the finished product!!

And good luck!!
Mark Singleton

Bene vivendo est optimum vindictae

The Laws of Physics do not care about your Politics   -  Me
Drill two holes the outside diameter of the brass piece in the back of the piece leaving about 1/8" of wood.

Chisel out the wood between the holes.

Drill out the rest of the holes using a bit slightly smaller.

Bevel the edges of the lip that is left.

Epoxy in the brass piece.

You could also cut a larger square piece of wood to mortise in behind the brass piece.

Not real clear but I hope you get the idea.
"Truth is a highway leading to freedom"  --Kris Kristofferson

Wild Turkey
We may see the writing on the wall, but all we do is criticize the handwriting.
(joined 10/1999)
(11-16-2018, 09:25 PM)®smpr_fi_mac® Wrote: I want to recess this into the face of a box and THINK I know what to do but want to ask you guys first.  Box is 1/2" thick.