How should I attempt a flat curve
I cut an L shaped wall in half in my house. I had to leave a couple of load bearing beams in place. Now it is open from one room to the next and I would like to cap the half wall section with wood as a "shelf".
There are 3 sections....one end is about 45" long, the other end is about 27" long.......and the middle piece is actually a curved section.
I plan on using walnut about 6 1/2 inches wide for a little overhang on each side of the wall. Since I'm a bad carpenter I plan on making oaktag templates of all the sections. When I get to the curved part, assuming I have a template, how should I lay out the walnut to trace the pattern on?
I'm thinking,,,make a 90* (like a picture frame corner) and cut the curve out of that. Then, wouldnt I need a much wider walnut board to start with? Right now my board is a bit over 7 1/2 inches wide.
I may have asked this question 10 years ago here but I never did it and forgot any recommendations. My wife finally ripped into me about it. Lol
Use segments to make up the curve, as depicted in this table.

[Image: surf-8.jpg]
Wood is good. 
What's the radius of the curve?
It is difficult to make a recommendation without more details; mainly, what is the radius of the curve. A drawing would help. Having said that, if I understand what you are trying to do correctly, I think that your "shelf" would look best if it were cut and joined in such a way that it had straight segments with each segment having the grain tangential to the radius. Because your board is only 7 1/2" to begin with, this might be difficult without edge joining to make wider segments. I suggest you make "boards" out of cardboard and lay them out on the curve to see what it takes to achieve the best look.

It looks like Ez-dusit, daddo, and I were typing at the same time. I agree.
I'm atrocious with math but I followed the directions from online to get the radius. It was 25" from edge to edge and about 4.75" deep. I got 18.822