Shop layout
Its been a long time since I logged in here.  Seems odd because I once would frequent this page a few times a day then I just stopped. Anyhow, last year things got carried away at my shop and business was a boomin'.  As a result I quickly realized that my work flow just wasn't satisfactory and ultimately caused me a fair amount of lost time.  I am down for a few weeks waiting for a new arbor shaft to be made at my machinist so I figured I would use this time to fix the work flow issue.  My question to you is this.  What is the location of your tablesaw to your jointer to your planer etc.  I have a 20 x 24 garage with the TS in the center, my jointer in one corner and my planer in between both.  It seems like to much walking.  I have a cabinet saw, 8 inch jointer and 15" planer as well as a 16/32 sander, miter saw station, bandsaw, drill press and the Shark HD4 cnc router

Thanks

FYI _ Ive been doing this for 20 years and just now asking this
My shop is 24x24.

I'm setting it up very closely to what is shown in the October '18 issue of Wood magazine.
Semper fi,
Brad

(01-28-2019, 03:59 PM)®smpr_fi_mac® Wrote: My shop is 24x24.

I'm setting it up very closely to what is shown in the October '18 issue of Wood magazine.
Any chance of finding a picture of that?  Im going to google it but figured I would ask
I looked for the magazine this afternoon but it didn't turn up. I'll look again and post it.
Semper fi,
Brad

A lot depends on what you're making, and how many.

The ideal setup for custom one-offs will be different from the ideal setup for production-type work, where you batch parts for bunches of finished units at a time.

Tell us more and someone may be more helpful than me.

Laugh
That's a lot of equipment for that size space, plus at least one workbench, storage cabinets, etc., to say nothing of any wood storage, but here's a whack at it.