Pool sticks
I'm a newbie, Just decided to take up woodworking ,BUT.  I have an idea and I want to know if anyone out there has ever tried to make a pool stick. I know it's wood, but that's where my knowledge ends. I imagine they use lathes and I would imagine there is a way to taper from thick to thin.  Also, I wonder if teh two or three piece ones are made as a whole and then cut into pieces and then attach connectors.  Anyone out there with a little knowledge on this.  (To be clear, I know this is out of my league for now, but being that I love to play pool, it may become an issue with me.
Wood turning is not my baliwick so I'll suggest taking a look at YouTube. There should be something there.
There is no such thing as too much horsepower, free lunch or spare change ~ anonymous

87% of people say their mental health is good to excellent. The rest are sane enough to know they are lying. ~ anonymous
There are a couple cue makers who hang out on www.penturners.org
Gary

Please don’t quote the trolls.
Liberty, Freedom and Individual Responsibility
Say what you'll do and do what you say.
I like to get my nose skinned when doing very fine work, and I know I would keep clear of your interest. Like Gary G. says, find other forums also that do woodturning. However, there may be some on Wood.Net who do that.
i love playing pool,too but doubt i could turn a cue that come close to the love i have for my meucci.

(02-17-2019, 12:33 PM)hbmcc Wrote: I like to get my nose skinned when doing very fine work, and I know I would keep clear of your interest. Like Gary G. says, find other forums also that do woodturning. However, there may be some on Wood.Net who do that.

I have a friend who makes and sells some very high dollar sticks...He must be pretty good because guys from all over the country send their sticks to him for repair...He's also a very good player..But I am clueless about making them.....
Crazy
Often Tested.    Always Faithful.      Brothers Forever