Finish for Claro Walnut. Advice please.
I'm about half way through a build of a Maloof style rocker. The wood is Claro Walnut. It is beautiful wood and I want to do it justice in the finish. I have never grain filled Walnut before, but I think it will be necessary here. Right now, I'm thinking of just creating a sanding slurry with the finish as opposed to using a commercial filler. I am also looking for a clear coat - I assume oil- that won't darken the wood too much as I don't want to lose the highlights in the multi colored wood. Obviously I will test the finish on scrap before I commit it to the project, but I'd appreciate hearing from anyone with some hands on knowledge. Thank you.
I am not a finishing expert. So, I would not "advise" you on the proper or best finish. But, I will tell you that my favorite finish is an old time equal parts mix of BLO, MS, and varnish. You wipe it on in multiple thin coats and you can sand it in to fill the grain as you suggest. If you do a web search, you will find lots of information about it. You can vary the mix some to effect the build or drying time. If you want a somewhat lighter color, substitute tung oil for the BLO, If you can't find varnish (alkyd) you can substitute polyurethane. I like to use turpentine instead of MS because it smells better. And, you can add some japan drier if you like to speed up drying between coats. Don't do this if you are going to sand in a slurry. Good luck. We would love to see some pics when it's finished.
The only time I've slurry sanded to fill grain has been on table tops, and it can really give you a glass smooth finish. But I think doing it on all parts of a chair would be an incredible amount of work.....still, I wish you the best and look forward to pics of how it turns out.
I started with absolutely nothing. Now, thanks to years of hard work, careful planning, and perseverance, I find I still have most of it left.