Track saw dilemma: Festool vs Makita
I bought a Festool track saw back in 04 or 05 specifically to break down sheet goods. Made a cutting grid to sit on sawhorses - sat just below tailgate height of the truck. Drag a sheet from the truck, place the track, make the cuts, rinse & repeat. Just sold my miter saw and will be giving away my RAS - which functions the brand new mft/3 will assume. Haven't used the mft/3 yet but I am impressed by it. Locks up dead nuts square and only takes a minute to square up when reassembling the table. Check out the mft/3 vides - it truly is multi-functional.
Thanks,  Curt
-----------------
"Life can only be understood backwards; but it must be lived forwards."
      -- Soren Kierkegaard
I have no experience with the Makita. 

I've got both the small and large Festool, Festool vac, MFT/3, extra MFT Table, 110" track, 55" track and a 32" track. I use them all. 

Obviously, I love the Festool system. If you break down sheets several times a year then get the Makita and save the money. However, if you use sheets a lot then spend the extra money and get the Festool, it's a wonderful tool system. 

Notes:
1) I VERY MUCH PREFER THE LARGER ONE. It has noticeably more power and not that much more weight. I started out with the small one but since I got the large one [needed it for a specific job] I just about never choose the small one now--it seems underpowered for most jobs. 1/4" ply is fine for the small one--everything else I go with the big one. I have no idea how the poster above could come to the opposite conclusion--I wonder if they cut 3/4" often...

2) I highly recommend getting the long 110" track. You don't want to be constantly putting together two 55's and taking them apart...

3) I actually sold my table saw [a cherry 1954 Unisaw] because I ended up never using it once I went track. Details: I use a lot of angles, work on site many times, and have young kids [so having a ts is a liability].